Iced Coconut Match Latté

12632951_10206814646417192_1955816758_o

Unless you’ve been living in a small town (like me) or had no internet for last couple of months, you would probably be well aware of the growing matcha trend. This green tea powder is now being hailed as super food, given cult status by some and will apparently make you lose weight and get clear skin.

 

12636949_10206812550164787_414780905_o

I’m not particularly concerned with any of these claims to be perfectly honest. I like matcha because it tastes good (I’m a really big tea drinker!). I like it because its accessible. I can make myself a latte at home, unlike with coffee. I like the way it makes me feel. Yes its caffeinated but it doesn’t give me crazy eyes like my regular coffee. So thats why I’m on the matcha bandwagon. Why you choose to jump on board and get into matcha (if you do), is up to you but when you do I’ve come up with a couple of fun recipes. They are also both icy cold, perfect to sip in the warm Aussie summer sunshine.

12656102_10206814647257213_993096152_o

I finally decided to purchase my own (I bought it from a specialty tea shop but it is much cheaper at Asia Grocers!) and now I’ve been sipping soy matcha lattes, cups of hot matcha and my tasty take on an iced matcha. I made coconut poached chicken recently so had some coconut milk kicking around the kitchen, so into the blender it went! I also have a couple of jars of whey, a by product of homemade ricotta so I used that in my iced matcha too but you could sub out the coconut milk and whey for regular cows milk, or your plant based milk of choice or even water. I’ve called this bad boy an iced latté because the use of ice only makes it a thinner consistency than a smoothie, but still delicious.

Iced Coconut Matcha Latté

1 cup ice

1 tsp matcha powder

1/2 fresh or frozen banana (optional)

1/4 cup coconut milk and 1/4 cup whey OR 1/2 cup milk of choice

1 date, 1 tsp honey or maple syrup (optional)

 

Directions

Throw ice, matcha powder, banana (if using), coconut milk, whey and sweetener (if using) in a blender and blend from low to high speed until ice is crushed and you reach a smooth consistency.

I like to serve mine in chilled glass with a little sprinkle of coconut or pop it in the freezer for 10-15mins so that it freezes a bit and becomes almost like matcha-nana ice cream (see photos).

Leave a Reply

